Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance - IPA II

enlargement countries

The project – “Preparatory measures for the future participation of relevant IPA II beneficiary countries in the European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)” is funded by the EU through the Instrument for Pre-accession Assistance (IPA). The beneficiary countries are: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey.

EMSA supports beneficiaries with a variety of technical activities (such as the transposition of international and EU maritime legislation, the development of a Quality management System for the Maritime Administration, the IMSAS audit), with the provisions of access to tools and applications developed by the Agency and the organisation of relevant training activities as regards relevant legal acts of the Union or participation to capacity building services offered by the EMSA Academy. 

The project aims at building up the capacity of the maritime administration, the approximation to the EU legislation, thus supporting their overall accession process and the enhancement of implementation of EU and international Maritime Legislation thus fostering safety, security and protection of the marine environment.

Beneficiary countries: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey.